top of page
  • Writer's pictureLouise Bell

Week 2 - Microphones

This week, I was unable to attend the lecture in class, but I watched on zoom. Brad Fuller introduced us to microphones and recording audio. We were shown different kinds of microphones and the equipment used to record audio. After demonstrating how to use all of these technology, the class was grouped to create their own recording about what they have found in their research about microphones.


I was unable to do take part of this activity, but I did do some research and there was one thing that I found interesting - Audio effects


Audio effects are great because they manipulate the audio to sound different. This is useful when wanting to create unique sounds. Different effects include EQ, reverb and compressor

  1. EQ: manipulate the frequency of an audio track. This is effective in changing the tone quality of the audio track

  2. Reverb: manipulate the ambience of an audio track. This is effective in changing the atmosphere of the audio track - we can make it sound as if the audio was recorded in a small or large room. Reverb is like an echo

  3. Compressor: balance a sounds in an audio track to that they are all equal. This is effective as all sounds can be heard evenly

I think when recording audio tracks, it is effective in using audio effects in making the recording sound more interesting and engaging

1 view

Recent Posts

See All

Week 7 - Albeton and Mashups

Special guest Matt Ridgway showed us all about mash ups and using Albeton. He showed us how to mash sounds together to create something through improvisation. I think it is very nice to have such acti

Week 9 - Online teaching resources

James uploaded a short video about creating online teaching resources. In recent times, more students prefer to use their laptop to do their work, so providing an online resource is necessary. I think

Week 13 - Free time!!

This week, we spent the lesson working on our project. I was able to create some chord progressions for the first 12 bars of the song!! As I am working with a partner (Josephine Smith), I shared my pr

bottom of page